on color in media…

Try as I might, my mind lies.

When I see black and white photos I think, “ancient history” and when I see color photos I think, “current events.” My intellectual side lies to other human beings and I say words indicating that I have a clear understanding of history, but my mind actually files black and white images into the “long ago” file so WWII images end up in the same heap as “Ancient Rome” in my brain. I know that’s not how it’s supposed to work, but that’s what happens.

Artist Marina Amaral has colorized black and white historical photos and the effect on the mind is rather jarring in the best possible way.

lewis_payne_in_custody_at_the_washington_navy_yard_1865
Lewis Thornton Powell was an American citizen who attempted to assassinate U.S. Secretary of State William H. Seward on April 14, 1865. Photo courtesy Wikimedia Commons
screen-shot-2017-01-17-at-11-26-56-am
Click here to go see Marina Amaral’s amazing work!

Now, I know that there are principles of physics that allow me to sit in a heavy airplane that flies, but in my mind it’s really magic… But that’s probably an issue to tackle on another day…

One thought on “on color in media…

Leave a Reply

