on browsers…

MacPic

Am I the very last person on the Internet to hear the conventional wisdom that using Chrome will short the work time you get out of a battery charge? Based on the carefully crafted Google query, “Does chrome use more power than other browsers 2015?” the answer would be, “Clearly, yes!”

Chrome is still a threat to your MacBook’s battery | The Verge.

The thing is, I live a big part of my work life in the Chrome browser.  I like the way that Chrome handles the many tabs I need to have open at the same time to do my work. Knowing that Chrome is a battery hog probably won’t change the way that I do my day-to-day work, but reading through the results list of my Chrome power query made me aware of the browser work flow that seems to have evolved organically over the last year.

I use a LOT of browsers! I work in Chrome for most of my day-to-day work editing Libguides; working in Docs, Slides, Spreadsheets, and Drive; everyday searching; etc. I generally leave Chrome logged in as “work me.” Because we are a Google Education Apps site, leaving Chrome logged in with my professional ID gives me seamless access to my school Gdrive and all of the plethora of shared files and folders that come my way through the “series of tubes” that is the Internet.

On my work machine, Opera is my “personal browser.” I leave it logged into my personal Google account and allows me to easily get to the things living in my personal Gdrive account.

Safari lives on my machine as my “Official School Library browser.” By leaving it logged in to our library account, I can easily see the mail being sent to and sent from the library email address (overdue reminders, etc.). I also manage the library’s Youtube Channel and other services that we use to for library related work.

Finally, Firefox lives on my school laptop as my “Generic student browser.” Because of the way our institution manages Google Education Apps accounts for teachers and students, Google sees the two groups as coming from “different institutions.” Because there are times when I want to put institution-specific information that needs to be password protected on our publicly accessible Libguides pages, we have a generic student GAFE account that allows us to make Gdrive files or folders accessible only to students at my school without making it visible to others without a valid student account.

What is your browser of choice? Is there a better way for me to handle all this? Do you have a browser that you like that I haven’t mentioned here? Has anyone tried the Vivaldi browser?

Leave a Reply

