on being 12…

I was a middle school librarian for fourteen years. I miss being a a lot more inserted into middle school life. This video captures being 12 truly perfectly! It’s an amazing piece of work.

The quotable quotes and the awkward “I don’t know what to say” moments really say it all.

“I’m afraid to go near girls ‘cuz I’m afraid they’ll laugh at me. It’s just kind of scary.”

“I just keep growing. I have no idea when I’m gonna stop. That’s the scary part.”

“Teachers, they kind of expect a lot from you, but when you give them a lot they want more.”

“My voice is changing, but I really don’t want it to change…”

After spending the last 14 years of my working life with seventh graders. These feel really authentic to me!

Leave a Reply

