on working with the brave …

I’m so very grateful to work with the brave. Yesterday was 9/11. I had to pretend that it was a day like any other just to get through the day.  I wasn’t in New York on that fateful day thirteen years ago, but I’ve spent so much time in New York in the years since, that the passing of time, in some ways, seems to make my memories of the events of 9/11 more painful and jarring rather than less. One of my cherished memories of the city was having my picture taken from the observation deck atop the South Tower on a clear, cloudless, summer day about 4 weeks before the towers were destroyed. This year’s passing of 9/11 was probably made tougher because I had just been to the newly completed memorial.

World Trade Center Memorial, Ground Zero: New York from Flickr via Wylio
© 2012 Rishad Daroowala, Flickr | CC-BY-ND | via Wylio

I couldn’t bring myself to read the memorials and remembrances posted for loved ones yesterday, but I read through some of them last night.  One blogger in particular, Metrodad, faithfully posts beautiful tributes to his friend Andy each year on 9/11.  When I first started following Metrodad, he was quite a prolific poster. He is a wonderful writer, but for one reason or another, over time, his blog seems to have dwindled to just a single post to Andy each year. His explanation this year that, “It’s not the memory of our friendship or all the amazing times that we spent together that I’m losing. It’s the memory of feeling what it was like to have you in my life. I hate this feeling. It scares me. It saddens me. And it depresses me” breaks my heart as a reader, yet, I go back year after year because his beautiful tributes remind me of how important it is to cherish every moment–even the small, mundane, fleeting ones…

To come back around to working with the brave, though, it pleased me to no end to learn that I have the great privilege to get to work with a young woman who is one of the brave. Yesterday we had two classes of third and fourth graders come to the library for a lesson on using the online catalog and to borrow and browse.  My co-librarian gave a quick intro and took a few minutes, though, to talk with our littlies about 9/11 and why we need to stop and remember the people it affected.

Sometimes I’m brave. This was not one of those times. I didn’t have it in me to talk with my kids about 9/11 yesterday, but I’m really happy and grateful that I’m luck enough to work with a brave young woman who did!

Thank you, Mrs. G!

Leave a Reply

