on going from Eeyore to Annie …

One of my favorite books as a child was, The World of Winnie the Pooh by A.A. Milne.  The one character I didn’t really love in the book as a child, though, was Eeyore the pessimistic, gloomy, and, well, kind of depressed stuffed donkey.  Eeyore just didn’t seem like a character that’d be fun to hang out with at a sunset potluck at Kaimana Beach.  Ironically, as it turns out, Eeyore and I can sometimes have more in common than I’d like to admit.  My reality is that there are times when the thoughts going through my head are a lot more like Eeyore than is good for, well, anyone …

I started, this week, a new chapter in my professional life when I started my new job as Director of Library and Media Services at a wonderful independent school here at home in Honolulu. You’d think that with the incredible good fortune of leaping from one great independent school in LA to another great independent school in Honolulu, that I’d be on top of the world, but for some reason I just found myself living with Eeyore in the space between my ears.

Well, as it turns out, I’ve just finished my first week. I honestly don’t quite know how to get into words, just how welcoming, supportive, and warm EVERYONE here has been. As the week progressed, I found Eeyore slowly, but surely fading into the background and being replaced by … errr … Annie?!?!?

As I met with different people around campus, I couldn’t help but feel a little bit like Little Orphan Annie when she arrives at Daddy Warbucks’ mansion and thinks, “I think I’m gonna like it here!”

 So yes, I’ve started a new job and a new chapter and … I think I’m gonna like it here! 

 

One thought on “on going from Eeyore to Annie …

Leave a Reply

