on sands in the hourglass and blogging …

'Hourglass' photo (c) 2010, John Morgan - license: http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.0/

Like sands in the hourglass, these are the young and the restless daze of our lives …

For quite a while now, I’ve wanted to start my kids blogging. For a variety of reasons that were a mix of institutional policies, time/content pressures with my curriculum, and technological issues, my previous forays into the world of student blogging crashed and burned.

This year, I finally managed to get the stars aligned (Hooray for my school becoming a Google Education Apps site) and today I finally got to launch my 7th graders into the blogosphere.

Here’s the thing, though, when I excitedly made the announcement to my little tribe of 12-year-old human beings it went something like this:

Me: “Okay, this is cool! Today we’re going to start blogging!!!”

12-year-old with a Blank Look on His Face: “Wait … What’s a blog? Is that like Instagram or Twitter?” (Other 12-year-old human beings nod along with knowingly blank stares …).

What happened?

Well … I guess that’s kind of what happens when an innovation comes along that is relevant and exciting, but it takes four years to get the policies and tools in place in order to actually start implementation of the innovation.

In the end, my kids did get excited about posting to their blogs (Even though. because of the 12-year-old barrier arbitrarily set by COPPA, we had to keep them privated).

In a world where our 12-year-olds have rather little desire to be on Facebook (“Facebook is for old people, but I’m on Instagram and I want to get a Tumbr…”) we’ve got to be able to move a lot more quickly and be a lot more nimble than this.

We don’t need to jump on every tool and every trend, but if it takes a teacher 4 years to get the institutional polices, network access, and tools in place in order to be able to do something as basic as have students blog, we’ll never get where we need to go …

 

 

Leave a Reply

