on cataloging and classification …

'Halloween Candy' photo (c) 2004, rochelle hartman - license: http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.0/

I love that I now live in a neighborhood where little kids still go trick-or-treating, door-to-door.  For ten years I lived in an apartment building where we, literally, never got a single trick-or-treater.  I really missed it!  Our first trick-or-treater of  the night in our new house was a green dragon with wings who looked to be about 4.  He came up to the door with his mom and what looked to be an older sibling. Our little dragon promptly asked my significant other, “Can I come in?” Before proceeding; much to his mother’s consternation, but my delight; to trot in and take a quick spin around the coffee table before heading back out the door and on to bigger and better things down the street!

It got me thinking, though, about the days when I used to go out trick-or-treating with my brother and my cousins.  The best part of the night was coming home and dumping all of the candy out onto the floor and classifying it.  Whoppers, Kit Kats, Milky Way, and Three Musketeers went into my “desirable” pile while Red Vines, Dum Dums, Sweet Tarts and Snow Caps went into the, “try to palm this junk off on my cousin Jeff in exchange for better stuff” pile.

One year, when I was about eight, I think that I went so far as to write down the numbers of each type of candy that I got.  I didn’t know it then, but cataloging and classification were in my blood! It must be at least a little genetic (my sister has an MLIS too).

Though … Hmmmm … It doesn’t really explain why I’m so bad at cataloging and classification now, that my boss doesn’t let me do it anymore … LOL … For some reason that I’ll never really understand, my boss seems to really like it when patrons can actually FIND a book in the online catalog … Details, details, details … Oy!

Leave a Reply

