on stuff that’s new to me …

So, in spite of the fact that people at work think that I’m all-crazy-tech-dude, I really am not much of an early adopter.  I got my first smart phone, an iPhone, on Good Friday and before that I had received text messages but never sent any.  Well, I guess it is time to get with the rest of the people living in the 21st century so here are the some of the new-to-me, but-probably-old-to-everybody-else things I’ve been learning …

iPad's iBooks Library Viewphoto © 2010 Glenn Fleishman | more info (via: Wylio)

E-Books:
How friggin’ awesome are ebooks, huh?  I borrowed the library iPad and downloaded Pillars of the Earth by Ken Follett.  I LOVE reading on the iPad.  I was completely blown away by the fact that I could synch my iPad and iPhone so that I could bookmark a place and pick up reading in the same place on a different device!  Who knew?!?!?  I never knew that I needed to be able to do that, and in reality I probably don’t NEED to be able to do it, but it sure is nice to be able to do it!!!

Pillars of the Earth in the cathedralphoto © 2008 Chris Brooks | more info (via: Wylio)

Audio Books:
As I was reading Pillars of the Earth, I also listened to parts of it on CD.  I LOVE being read to!!! It was my virginal audio book and I’ve heard that the reader is particularly good.  All I know is that I LOVED listen.  I sometimes even read along in my book with the reader just as I did when I was in the first grade.  The only thing missing was the little bell that rung to tell me to turn the page!  I’ve now moved on to Follet’s follow-up to World Without End, but this time I loaded the CDs onto my iPhone.  Amazingly, when I get into my car, my iPhone connects automatically and I can listen to my book without even connecting a cord.  Crazy!!!

Quick Tip: Use Evernote to back up your blog in real timephoto © 2011 Joe Ross | more info (via: Wylio)

Evernote:
My 7th grade students are researching a variety of Web 2.0 tools that they’ll present to the class.  One of the girls is researching Evernote and she insisted that I HAD to set up an account, download the app onto my phone and give it a whirl.  Oh My Lord!!!  Evernote is, like, the most amazing thing ever. How does it take text found in a picture and make it searchable?!?!?!?  I don’t get it.  It is magic!!!

Dropbox Logophoto © 2010 Martin Lafrance | more info (via: Wylio)

Dropbox:
Another young man is researching Dropbox.  So simple, so amazing. Download and install, then drag files onto the Dropbox icon and access it from any internet connected computer or your phone.  More magic!!!

Add Text Caption Under Photo:
Our friend Elisabeth down the street shared a Libguide that she created for her 7th graders that included some really great tools.  Add Text Caption Under Photo is especially cool as it makes for easy attribution when that is what is called for.

Behold Image Search:
A clean and easy to use interface for finding very nice quality copyright friendly Creative Commons images.

Leave a Reply

