on broadband access …

Thank goodness!

The FCC is finally coming out with a plan to encourage development of better broadband access to poor Americans (I don’t mean Americans who don’t make much money, I mean all Americans who have no choice but to put up with horrible, inconsistent, and barely broad broadband access compared to just about all of the rest of the developed world …). It’s about time! Broadband access in Prague this summer, for example, absolutely blazed relative to my broadband DSL access in Honolulu and my DSL access in Los Angeles.

At my former address, I had the choice of horribly bad broadband service offered to me through Time Warner Cable that constantly turned on and off so that trying to stream a Youtube video was an exercise in s-t-a-r-t-i-n-g-and-s-t-o-p-p-i-n-g-and-s-t-a-r-t-i-n-g-and-s-t-o-p-p-i-n-g until you just gave up half the time or the barely broad broad band speed offered to me through the ATT DSL.

Since moving to my new neighborhood, I have access to the fantastically consistent, wonderfully blazing speed offered by my newfangled ATT U-verse connection. What a difference it can make in a computing experience!

More here from PBS News Hour!

Leave a Reply

