on those illegal libraries …

Jessamyn West over at librarian.net posted this about an underground library being run in a high school … This kid, apparently, even has a selection policy … Nice (that is if this story is, indeed, real … I have doubts, but even so it’s a good story)!!!

clipped from answers.yahoo.com

Is it OK to run an illegal library from my locker at school?

I go to a private school that is rather strict. Recently, the principal and school teacher council released a (very long) list of books we’re not allowed to read.

One of my personal favorites, The Catcher in the Rye, was on the list, so I decided to bring it to school to see if I would really get in trouble.

Then (surprise!) a boy in my English class asked if he could borrow the book, because he heard it was very good AND it was banned!

This happened a lot and my locker got to overflowing with the banned books, so I decided to put the unoccupied locker next to me to a good use. I now have 62 books in that locker, about half of what was on the list.

I took care only to bring the books with literary quality. Some of these books are:

>The Perks of Being a Wallflower
>His Dark Materials trilogy
>Sabriel

blog it
Leave a Reply

